Board of Scientific Counselors

Board of Scientific Counselors

The Board of Scientific Counselors for NINDS reviews and evaluates the NINDS intramural program and the work of individual scientists in this program.


Diane Lipscombe, Ph.D.  [06/30/2022]
Brown Institute for Brain Science
Brown University
Providence, RI  02912

Richard O'Brien, M.D., Ph.D.  [06/30/2022]
Professor and Chair
Department of Neurology
Duke University School of Medicine
Durham, NC  27704

Diego Restrepo, Ph.D.  [06/30/2022]
Department of Cell and Developmental Biology
University of Colorado Anschutz Medical Campus
Aurora, CO  80045

David G. Standaert, M.D., Ph.D.  [06/30/2022]
Professor and Chair
Department of Neurology
University of Alabama at Birmingham
Birmingham, AL  35294-0021

Cornelia Bergmann, Ph.D.  [06/30/2022]
Lerner Research Institute
Cleveland Clinic Foundation
9500 Euclid Avenue NC30
Cleveland, OH 44195

Wendy Macklin, Ph.D.  [06/30/2022]
Professor and Chair
Department of Cell and Development Biology
University of Colorado Denver
Anschutz Campus, Mail Stop 8108
RC-I South Bldg., LIS-12120
12801 East 17th Avenue
PO Box 6511
Aurora, CO 80045 

Merit Cudkowicz, M.D.   [06/30/2024]
Julieanne Dorn Professor of Neurology
Harvard Medical School
Chief of Neurology
Massachusetts General Hospital
55 Fruit Street, WACC 720
Boston, MA  02114

Gordon M.G. Shepherd, M.D., Ph.D.  [06/30/2024]
Associate Professor
Department of Physiology
Northwestern University
Morton 5-660
303 East Chicago Avenue
Chicago, IL  60611

Erika Holzbaur, Ph.D. [06/30/2024]
Professor of Physiology
William Maul Measey
Perelman School of Medicine
University of Pennsylvania
Philadelphia, PA 19104

Maya Babu, M.D., MBA [06/30/2024]
Neurosurgery Specialist
Cleveland Clinic Martin Health
Port Saint Lucie, FL 34987

Executive Secretary
Nina Schor, M.D., Ph.D.
Acting Scientific Director, Division of Intramural Research
Deputy Director, NINDS

Bethesda, Maryland 20892